Where the Red Fern Grows by Wilson Rawls

31428755

A timeless emotional classic. This book is a tale of love, loyalty, friendship and lives of hill people.

I couldn’t understand these town people. If they weren’t staring at a fellow, they were laughing at him.

Billy and his family lived in hills. His family couldn’t afford to buy him hunting hounds, so he laboriously for two years. He finally buys two pups names them, Old Dan and Little Ann.  He hunts with them every day and over time, Billy and his hounds become inseparable. He trains them to be the best hounds but life isn’t always rosy. Prayers will be answered and legends come true. What has red fern got to do the story? Why is it so special? To know the answers you must read the book.

There are parts in the book which made me smile and there are a few sentences which made me sad as well. This book filled my heart with a warm feeling of companionship. The best thing about this book is the story itself, an innocent tale of a boy and his dogs. The ending of the book emphasizes on moving on in life, it was beautifully written in a simple way which can be understood by kids. The author effortlessly blended emotions with emotions, this made the book a timeless classic. The book is well written but I personally prefer watching this movie than reading the book. I tried really hard to connect with the book. I think the younger version of myself would absolutely love this book.

I recommend this book to middle-graders and people who love animals, especially individuals who have pets. Anyone who wants to read something different can pick this book up.

Rating: 3.5/5

Happy Reading 🙂

Leave a comment

A WordPress.com Website.

Up ↑